NaNoWriMo? More like ScaRyAsHell

NaNoWriMo is around the corner. For those of you who don’t know, it’s National Novel Writing Month and it happens in November every year. The idea behind it is to register on the site and start writing on November 1st, in an attempt to finish a novel of at least 50,000 words by the end of November 30th. While I’ve never participated and am fairly new to it, I am considering doing it this year. I’m already committed to a project currently that is not very close at all to first draft completion, but I’m considering giving it a go and just trying to keep up with my current work as much as I can.

If I do it, it will be hard for sure. 50,000 words by the end of the month means a minimum of around 1,700 words a day, which isn’t too hard, but it’s intimidating. Normally when I write, I don’t feel pressure to hit a deadline. I’m not a published author, so deadlines are not something I’ve ever had to deal with. A definite plus to participating, would be introducing myself to this concept and forcing myself to deal with it; however, I am terrified of taking too much attention and time off of my current project, which could lead to abandonment.

So why don’t I just use NaNo to work on my current project? Well, one of the few rules to NaNo, is that you must start a fresh project. You can have outlines and plot notes all you want, but you can’t have started writing a draft before it starts. The prospect of participating is extremely exciting but at the same time frightening.

I would very much appreciate anyone’s input. If you have thoughts on whether or not I should participate, or words of encouragement, please comment below. Thanks! And see you guys next time!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo? More like ScaRyAsHell

  1. latteonpaper says:

    I decided to go for it. I’m registered online and trying to brainstorm ideas. It’s really exciting, but I’m also really nervous 😉

Leave a Reply

